2015

Bye, bye, 2015. You’ve been good to me. After several years that had been not easy, to say the least, things finally began to fall in place. I officially graduated with my Ph.D., found a job that comes with amazing colleagues, moved into a lovely apartment, AND I became an aunt a few weeks ago. Now I am looking forward to next year and the adventures it has in store. And, of course, I wish you, dear readers, all the best for 2016! I can’t overemphasize how much I appreciate you visiting my little blog. Makes me happy, it does!

My final photo of 2015 is one that I didn’t get around to post earlier in the year. Among the most moving moments of 2015 was when my grandmother showed me this postcard in April. At that point it was exactly 100 years old. It shows my 32-year-old great-great-grandfather (second from the left in the front row) who had been drafted to the army for World War I. On the back he had written: “My dear wife, I am sending you a photo of me and my colleagues. I wish you happy Easter. Things here are not very cheerful. We are on duty until noon tomorrow. Otherwise I am o.k. I am in good health, which is the most important thing. Greetings, F.K.  April 3, 1915.”  It was the last time my family heard from him. We know that his division was sent into the mountains shortly thereafter to fight in the grueling Battles of the Isonzo between Austria-Hungary and Italy, and that he never came back, which threw my family into turbulence and hardship reverberating for decades.

So much for my family’s experience with World War I, whose centenary we have been remembering this year. I am still hoping that we all learn from the past hundred years and, maybe, try a bit harder next year to get along. Here is to a happy and peaceful 2016!

IMG_20151029_0001

6 thoughts on “2015

  1. I love old photographs and always wonder about the story of those people and wonder how their life has been.
    Thank you for the short insight, it is really interesting to know!

    Happy New Year!

  2. Thank you! Happy New Year to you, too!

    I am fascinated by the lives of people in the past as well. My granddad was really good about writing up our family tree, but it’s my grandma who knows lots of stories about my ancestors and people in the village in general. Now I am on a mission to preserve these stories 🙂

Leave a Reply

