Burgkino

One activity I usually suggest to visitors in Vienna is to see The Third Man at Burgkino. It’s a great movie with a screenplay written by Graham Greene and it is set in Vienna in the postwar years. Seeing what the city looked like after it had been bombed to shreds provides a striking contrast to the pomp and glory displayed to visitors today. The movie has been playing for as long as I can remember (and most likely much longer than that). This past weekend I heeded my own advice and went to Burgkino with my husband. I expected us to be the only people in there on a sunny summer afternoon, but there was about twenty of us. Very remarkable.

Burgkino

Burgkino

Leave a Reply

