Greetings from the Past

Last Sunday, my grandma and my aunt stopped by for dinner. And they brought me a huge bag full of yarn. Boy, I couldn’t have been more excited, because this is yarn from the sheep we owned in the 1980s and 1990s. My aunt was among the early certified organic farmers back in the day, and initially she specialized in sheep farming. I own some socks that my great grandma (who died more than 15 years ago) knit for me, but I had no idea that my aunt still had some of the yarn left. It’s not fancy and pretty scratchy, but it works well for boot socks or just for an extra layer of socks to keep the feet warm. Socks provided by sheep that I knew personally. Pretty cool, huh?

Happy Thanksgiving to those of you who celebrate!

???????????????????????????????

6 thoughts on “Greetings from the Past

    • Scratchy wool makes for warm and happy feet 🙂 The thought that a couple of centuries ago people used to wear this kind of wool on their skin (with no modern, soft in-between layer) makes me cringe, though. Our ancestors surely were a tough bunch 🙂
      I hope you had a great holiday,
      Barbara

Leave a Reply

