My Secret Passion

Well, for those who know me it’s no big secret. I just realized that I haven’t mentioned anything about one of my severest addictions on this blog yet. Last winter the Mister worried that he couldn’t get the woolen socks that he used to buy in the US. Thus I decided that, over Christmas break, I would knit some for him. It had been 20 years since I knitted something (for school), but I figured it’s like riding a bike, right? Turned out it was, and boy,Β wasΒ I hooked! The internet makes knitting such a different experience, and the materials have improved tremendously – I just couldn’t believe it. Β No more icky acrylic yarn, but glorious, soft merino or alpaca – silk even! Oh my. I guess I’ll post some of my projects here soon. Here is my newest acquisition all the way from Vermont that my postman dropped off yesterday. I was so excited; I think making me so happy made him also happy in return.

IMG_8154

13 thoughts on “My Secret Passion

  1. My knitting addiction is secret too! Have you looked at the website Ravelry? You have to sign up, but it’s free and they have loads of patterns, both free and paid. I found it really useful for finding good patterns.

  2. Hi! Where did you get your yarn from? I didn’t knit in a long time, but I want to start again.
    Greetings from Arizona from another Austrian πŸ˜‰
    Ingrid

  3. Hi Barbara,
    thanks for the Links. Just looked at the first one real quick and a fell in love with one color right away. I think I have to order some yarn. I will rather buy from one independet seller and get a better quality. Now I have to check out the other links. πŸ™‚
    I will check out Ravelry too, sounds great!
    Thanks,
    Ingrid

    • Hi Ingrid,
      Oh, the yarn and knitting bug has bitten you! Now there is no escape πŸ™‚
      I already started knitting socks with the mustard colored yarn from Black Sheep Dye Works and I can highly recommend it. It’s pure bliss to work with and the outcome is very pretty, too.
      Anyways, if you sign up for Ravelry let me know, so I can be your friend πŸ™‚
      Greetings from a glorious early fall day in Vienna!
      Barbara

      • Hi Barbara!
        I am a bit confused right now. I answered to this post a couple days ago, but it looks like it didn’t work out. So here I go again.
        Black Sheep Dye works has some really beautiful yarn. Now the hard part starts, I have to decide which color I should get and whats my first project (after a couple years break). I added you as friend on Ravelry, I hope thats ok.
        Sunny greetings from Arizona!
        Ingrid

      • Hi Ingrid,
        Sorry about the technical problems. I don’t know what went wrong, but I didn’t get a notification about a comment. Anyways, deciding on a color and a project, that’s so much fun! I think I’ll tackle a sweater some time this winter, but so far I’ve only knit socks like crazy. They are smaller and provide you with a sense of achievement much more quickly, hehe.
        I also added you as a friend on Ravelry. Looking forward to seeing your projects!
        Greetings from Vienna!
        Barbara

      • Hi Barbara,
        don’t worry, maybe I pushed the wrong button πŸ˜‰
        I think I will start with socks too, Since I will use them at home anyways, it would be a problem if they are not perfect πŸ˜‰
        Thanks, for adding me. I will check out Ravelry this weekend a bit closer, to get more familiar with what available there. Can’t wait!
        Greetings from Arizona!
        Ingrid

      • Haha, that’s how I get to keep socks for myself as well. If a mistake happens, too bad, I’ll have to keep them πŸ˜‰
        Have a great weekend!
        Barbara

Leave a Reply

